Terms of reference

  • To develop and advise the Senate on the implementation of College policies and procedures relating to the assurance of academic quality and standards in relation to the College’s programmes.
  •  To ensure that the College’s quality assurance and academic standards framework meets the expectations of relevant external national and international quality assurance bodies, and Professional, Statutory and Regulatory Bodies (PSRBs) where appropriate.
  •  To direct Centres, Departments and Faculties in the implementation of policy and regulation relating to the assurance of academic quality and standards, preparation for assessment of quality, programme review and enhancement.
  •  To oversee periodic reviews of undergraduate and postgraduate taught provision in Departments, and to report on the reviews, including the identification of good practice and recommendations for quality enhancement.
  • To oversee periodic and precept reviews of postgraduate research provision and to receive annual reports on the reviews, including the identification of good practice and recommendations for quality enhancement.
  • To consider proposed changes to the academic and examination regulations and make recommendations to Senate.
  • To oversee the operation of College wide internal and external student surveys (via sub-committees where necessary), the consideration of and action planning in response to these surveys through quality assurance and enhancement mechanisms and make further recommendations for action where necessary.
  • On the advice of the Programmes Committee to approve new programmes and short courses.
  • On the advice of the Programmes Committee to approve major modifications to existing programmes and short courses (including suspension and withdrawal).
  • To oversee the activities and receive the minutes of the Programmes Committee, Faculty Education Committees, Postgraduate Research Quality Committee, Collaborative Provision Sub-Group and working groups as appropriate.
  • Review reports on academic standards and the quality of the student experience, including student casework, External Examiner reports, Placement and Study Abroad activity.

Constitution and membership


  • Academic Registrar as Chair;
  • Deputy Director of the Graduate School
  • the Senior College Consul;
  • a senior representative with a responsibility for educational leadership from each faculty nominated by the Dean;
  • a senior representative from the Centre for Higher Education Research and Scholarship and/or the Centre for Languages, Culture and Communication (CHERS/CLCC)
  • Chair of the Programmes Committee;
  • Head of Academic Services
  • ICU Deputy President (Education)
  • GSU President (or nominee)

Membership (Academic year 2019/20)
David Ashton Academic Registrar (Chair)
Laura Lane Graduate School Head of Strategy and Operations
Professor Peter Openshaw Senior College Consul
Dr Edgar Meyer Chair of the Programmes Committee
Dr Lorraine Craig Faculty of Engineering Nominee
Professor John Seddon Faculty of Natural Sciences Nominee
Mr Martin Lupton Faculty of Medicine Nominee
Karen Tweddle / Veronica Russell Business School Nominee
Claire Stapley CLCC/CHERS Nominee 
Ashley Brooks Deputy President (Education) for Imperial College Union
Mohit Devgan President (Graduate Students' Union)
Judith Webster Head of Academic Services
Lucy Heming / Kirstie Ward Senior Assistant Registrar (Quality Assurance & Enhancement) as Secretary
Summary of the table's contents


Meeting dates and deadlines

Committee dates (Academic year 2019/20)Submission deadlines (Academic year 2019/20)
09 October 2019 25 September 2019
20 November 2019 06 November 2019
15 January 2020 20 December 2019
26 February 2020 12 February 2020
22 April 2020 06 April 2020
03 June 2020 20 May 2020
Summary of the table's contents
Agenda items (including papers) should be submitted to the committee secretary two weeks prior to the committee meeting. Papers will normally be circulated to members one week prior to the committee meeting. Items to be recommended to Senate cannot be considered at the final meeting of the academic year.


Academic year 2018/19

Academic year 2017/18

Academic year 2016/17

Academic year 2015/16

Academic year 2014/15

Academic year 2013/14

Academic year 2012/13

For committee minutes prior to 2012/13, please contact the committee secretary.